Hit and run collisions are often traumatic and may have devastating effects on your physical and emotional health. Obtaining compensation is challenging as the police may be unable to locate the at-fault party. However, that does not mean you do not have options for recovering damages.

A legal professional who handles cases involving hit and run car accidents in Media could help you fight for compensation to cover your losses. If you were in a crash with someone who failed to stop and exchange information, call a reliable car collision attorney today to review your case.

Why do People Flee the Scene of an Accident?

While there is no justifying a hit and run, drivers may flee the scene of a car crash in Media for several reasons, including the following:

No Auto Insurance Coverage

People may leave the scene after a vehicle collision due to a lack of auto insurance coverage. Pennsylvania drivers must have at least $15,000 in liability coverage for bodily injuries per person, $30,000 per crash, and $5,000 for property damage.

Drinking and Driving

Impaired driving is one of the common causes of a hit and run. The chances of an individual fleeing increases if they have prior arrests for driving under the influence.

Uninsured Motorist Coverage

State laws require all motorists to carry the minimum liability insurance to travel within the state. Many policies include uninsured motorists coverage for crashes with those who fail to comply with the regulations. Fortunately, those benefits are also available after an accident with a driver who flees.

A Media attorney who works on hit and run car collision cases could review their client’s options for recovering damages. They could also handle insurance company communication and gather evidence to help receive a fair payout for damages and losses.

Legal Requirements After a Vehicle Collision

Leaving the scene after a crash with a moving or parked vehicle is unlawful in most cases. Under the guidance of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes 75 § 3744, motorists are legally obligated to pull out of traffic if possible and exchange information after collisions resulting in personal injuries or property damage.

If injuries are severe, they must call first responders for help immediately. Each party involved in the accident must provide the other motorist with the following information:

  • Legal name
  • Address
  • Vehicle registration number
  • Proof of automobile insurance coverage
  • Driver’s license number

Leaving the site of the crash when severe bodily injuries occur is a third-degree felony offense with a minimum sentencing requirement of 90 days in jail. During a consultation, a lawyer could answer questions about the statutes that cover hit and run car wrecks in Media.

Schedule a Consultation With an Attorney to Discuss Media Hit and Run Car Accidents

State laws require drivers to pull off the road in a safe location after car wrecks to avoid blocking traffic and to exchange information. Motorists must stop regardless of the severity of a crash and even when property damage is minimal. When someone leaves the scene without complying with these statutes, the aftermath can feel overwhelming for the injured party.

Call Dan Doyle Law Group today to schedule an appointment with a knowledgeable personal injury attorney. Our legal team knows the ins and outs of cases involving hit and run car accidents in Media and could support you throughout the process.